Audacity Tutorial: How to Backup Your Audacity Project While Working On It

In this short tutorial I show you how to make a backup copy of your working Audacity project file. Project backups were introduced in Audacity version 3.0.0 and are a convenient way to backup your work, keeping the backup copy separate from your working copy. Project backups are identical to your working project but are essentially a snapshot of your working project at the moment in time that you create it. You can give your backup copy it’s own name and save it in any folder. This is a great way to make backups of your project at critical points in your editing because it give you a convenient way to go back to a version of the project before changes were made, if needed.

Hardware I used in this video: (As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying Amazon purchases.)

  • 2017 MacBook Pro

Software I used in this video:

  • Audacity version 3.1.3
  • Camtasia version 2021.0.8
  • Auphonic Leveler version 1.8

Audacity Version 3.1.3 Clip Name Fix and 1,000 Subscribers!

Audacity version 3.1.3 is out. There are some significant fixes with this release. In this video, I talk about one of them that I had previously mentioned in a video (link below) and reported to Audacity. Namely, the inability to change or delete a clip name without it causing Audacity to crash when using sync-lock tracks. That’s been fixed in this version of Audacity. This only affected Mac users. In this video I’m using a 2017 MacBook Pro running OS Monterey and Audacity version 3.1.3.

And a big shoutout and thank you to all of you! I’ve reached 1,000 subscribers!! This blows my mind. Thank you all for sticking with me on my channel. You all rock!

I recorded this video using the Pixel Lavalier lapel mic plugged into my iPhone. Here’s the link. (NOTE: As an Amazon Associate I earn a small commission if purchases are made using this link). https://amzn.to/30WJg6p